Jen Lancaster, You May Never Do Me Wrong- Jeneration X, by Jen Lancaster. 5 out of 5 stars.

Jen Lancaster is almost always going to get 5 stars with me. Almost. I couldn’t get into My Fair Lazy and I didn’t attempt the fiction book she did last year(maybe that’s next). This is full of trying to grow up wisdom. How to move out of the apartment you’ve been in with your hubby for many years, how to “boycott” Thanksgiving with your insane family(My favorite chapter, I think-and yes, I will be putting that into practice this year) and have a Thanksgiving with your friends instead, how to try to maintain the eating and drinking habits you did when you were 22(and finding out Father Time is NOT a friend in either respect), among many other unforgettable chapters. The thing I love about Jen Lancaster’s books is that she does not beat around the bush about ANYTHING. That is awesome. The fact that she is unabashedly unafraid of stating that and maintaining a sarcastic edge of humor throughout her book- makes her even more awesome in my book. So do yourself a favor- if you want a wickedly funny look at life from someone who isn’t afraid to march up to you and go “What the hell is the matter with you?”, read her books. Start with Bitter is the New Black and read all of them. 

~ by generationgbooks on May 8, 2012.

3 Responses to “Jen Lancaster, You May Never Do Me Wrong- Jeneration X, by Jen Lancaster. 5 out of 5 stars.”

  1. Ok, this sounds really great!!!! I will check it out!!! BTW, did I tell you to read By the Iowa Sea by Joe Blair??? I don’t have it, got it from the library, but it is really good.

    • Oh Laura, really- start with her first one, and I guarantee you will not stop. I think when you tried to read her eons ago, maybe it just wasn’t the right time? She’s great! I like her more than Laurie Notaro, and I didn’t think I would EVER say that.

  2. I will check it out, I think I may have a copy of it coming, ironically enough!

Leave a Reply

 
