The Lion Is In, by Delia Ephron. 3 out of 5

I liked the idea of this story. I like the way Delia Ephron writes. What didn’t I like, that I didn’t award this book 5 stars? Simple. It was too fluffy. I am not a Cottonelle reader. I prefer my steak to be steak, not tofeak(tofu steak. Does it exist? Highly unlikely. I made it up). 

This is the first book in the new Penguin Book Club. I heard of it on Twitter and Re-tweeted to win a copy. Oddly enough(or not, with these crazy matters), I won a copy. Delia’s book has also been optioned into a movie. I could tell you, and will, by the end of the post, who I think could play the parts of the three ladies. 

Lana is a recovering alcoholic former beauty queen. Tracee is a runaway bride and kleptomaniac. Rita is trapped in a boring marriage and looking to find out what life is really about. One hot night in North Carolina, they decide to go on the run in Lana’s Mustang. They crash the car and seek refuge in what appears to be an abandoned nightclub. That’s where Marcel comes in. Who’s Marcel? A dashing mystery man? Sort of- mysterious, yes, but a lion. The ladies become fiercely protective, not only of each other, but also of Marcel. 

This book is great at establishing witty repartee and the bonds of friendship among radically different women going through different stages of  mid-life crisis. They attempt to come to terms with the way their lives have turned out- one who’s run from her marriage before she even enters into it, one running from a marriage that she’s been in for many years, and another who is so wounded from her past that she has no desire for a future with a man, although you catch glimpses of the loneliness in her. This book is also great at establishing a great character- in a LION. That alone got it a whole half a star higher than I was going to give it. Marcel is a whole entity I hadn’t planned on enjoying. The lion brought some humor and real warmth to this book. I really am glad Ephron brought him into the story.
I’d like to describe this as Fried Green Tomatoes meets The Life of Pi. In fact, I think that’s the best way to describe it.

The only thing I had a problem with is that it’s so light. Fluffy is the word I keep coming back to. I can see why it’s going to be a movie. My choices for the roles? Tracee would be played by Reese Witherspoon. Rita would be played by Andie McDowell. Lana would be played by Amy Adams. Marcel? Priceless. 

~ by generationgbooks on May 21, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
