How To Be A Woman- Caitlin Moran-(4 out of 5)

Caitlin Moran is pretty well known in her native UK. Pretty sure that after this book gets more press, she will begin to build a steady fan base in the US, also.

Essentially, I was drawn to this book because of the unique cover. Anything in black and white with a well-placed splash of color is going to get my attention. Then I read the blurbs on back. Then the actual back cover. I’m not a big reader of feminist lit or feminist studies- I’m not saying I’m against them(hell, no, NOT saying that!), but I used to think “You read one, you read them all, they pretty much say the same.” Ms. Caitlin has changed my tune again.

She hits on everything from birth to puberty to marriage to childbirth. She adds in her own opinions on why things have to suck to be a woman- I mean, really, they shouldn’t. Woman’s equality has been decided many, many years ago. Yet things continue to be tougher for the fairer sex than the opposite sex. Why? It makes no sense, when we get put through periods, pregnancy, childbirth, and menopause is almost the final insult… not to mention, throwing in housework, being paid less than men in the workforce, etc. How many times have you taken your car in to get checked, and had the men talk to you like you’re an imbecile? If your hubby/significant other/blow-up doll went in and asked the questions, that attitude would vanish. It still happens, it’s still relevant, and more than that, it’s still needing someone like Caitlin Moran to write a book about it. While a serious subject, she finds the raucous humor side to it, and sticks with that. 

I thought the book was down-to-earth, intelligent, sarcastic, and humorous. I think we all need to read more books like this. I think if you crossed Chelsea Handler with Ruth Bader Ginsburg, you would have Caitlin Moran. Now go read it! 

~ by generationgbooks on August 13, 2012.

One Response to “How To Be A Woman- Caitlin Moran-(4 out of 5)”

  1. Great review! I am on the wait list at the library for this one. I am in a feminist mood!

Leave a Reply

 
