The Age of Miracles-Karen Thompson Walker(2 out of 5)

I really wanted to believe all the hype surrounding this title. Unfortunately, I couldn’t/can’t do it.

The idea of an ever-slowing Earth- is great. Espicially when anyone who has any grasp of science, gravity, physics, etc. realizes what the short and long-term consequences of such a thing happening. I thought- this book is going to make the Earth fall off my axis. Not quite what I had hoped for.

Julia is 11 years old(the age of miracles) and is starting to go through all the fun stuff that accompanies puberty- the noticing of boys, the emotions going haywire, etc. She’s also noticing that her parent’s marriage isn’t the happy affair she thought it was. In fact, affair is the right word- when she realizes her doctor father isn’t spending all that time at the hospital, as she thought. Her best friends disappear into other states when the panic over living on borrowed time(literally) begins to invade their common sense sector. Other friends disappear to a commune in the desert. Julia stays where she is, and develops a crush on and subsequent crush on her friend. However, things continue to go awry. There’s division in the town, and violence results. Julia’s boyfriend gets very sick, with a stronger version of something that her mother also has, and you feel like that’s where the story loses what hope it has. The beat goes on, but you stop and say “what the hell? Why? Where’s the resolution?” I almost hoped for a fucking meteor crash, no joke.

My main complaint? No actual tying up of the plot, nor loose ends scattered throughout the book. I had a customer a week ago who was asking me what hardcover fiction I’d heard good things about. She almost bought it, but something was holding her back. I can’t wait to see her in the store again, b/c I’ve read two others recently that I’d recommend instead. Karen Thompson Walker is a great talent. Julia is a great, likeable, realistic 11 yr old girl model. The other characters- same. The story- has a great premise going, but the actual delivery of it- leaves something to be desired.

~ by generationgbooks on August 15, 2012.

One Response to “The Age of Miracles-Karen Thompson Walker(2 out of 5)”

  1. You hit the nail on the head. I agree with everything you said. I really enjoyed the book as I was reading it and I loved the main character…but I guess it is not destined to be a book that sticks with me. What are the other 2 that you would now recommend?

Leave a Reply

 
