Gone Girl- Gillian Flynn(3 out of 5)

I am going to start this by saying that I LOVE Gillian Flynn. Her first two books- Sharp Objects and Dark Places- are fabulous. Gone Girl has blown up the last month. Dan, my coworker, is the one who turned me onto Gillian Flynn. Those first two books- espicially Sharp Objects(my favorite), blew my mind. Psychological overload- and I LOVED it. This book- is a whole different tortilla.

It’s Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary and Amy has disappeared from their house without a trace. This opens up a whole Pandora’s box. Nick’s behavior- from being unemotional to the point of Stonehenge, grinning maniacally in a photograph taken shortly after she’s discovered gone, to all the white lies that begin to pile up and are subsequently discovered, opens him up as the main suspect. The police find a load of clues that seem to point fingers at Nick- Amy’s diary which reveals her fear of her husband and their crumbling marriage, a woodshed full of extravagant gifts that were bought on a credit card that is under Nick’s name(but he claims to have no such card, nor the gifts), the potential weapon, all sorts of incriminating evidence. The tide of loving concern for Nick quickly turns against him in light of these revealations…but is there more than meets the eye here? Is Amy REALLY the saint that she is painted to be? What really happened? Why does Nick keep making up lies? What part do Amy’s friends, exes, parents, play in her disappearance? Does Nick’s twin sister Go know more than she’s letting on? If Nick’s marriage was good, why was he messing around with one of his students? It’s as much of a study of a marriage as it is a testimonial about pre-conceived notions in regards to the husband being the first suspect looked at in a missing wife’s case. It’s interesting that she managed to tie that into the story, given the news is currently full of Drew Peterson’s trial(at least in Illinois, it is). The end, when it does come, gives me the feeling that maybe she had written herself into a corner here. Flynn’s psychological portraits and plots in her previous books- were intricate, as they are here. There were multiple twists and turns. Those are also present here. The only thing not present here, in my opinion at least, was a satisfactory ending. I couldn’t get over it. I finished it two days ago, and still can’t figure out why she took it in that direction. I have encouraged Dan to read this one quickly so we can discuss it. I am still a little stunned at the ending, and not in a fulfilled way. I guess misery does love company. 

So much about Gillian Flynn’s book is awesome. The characters, both main, and supporting, are fleshed out and completely realistic in their words and actions. The plot never gets dull. At no point are you bogged down to the point where you put the book away because it is too much- if anything, it’s moving too slow because you’re so enraptured with what you’re reading, and you can’t wait to see the conclusion. The psychological angles are sharply honed and add greatly to the background of the story that you’re seeing played out. The only thing that kept me from being overwhelmingly enthusiastic with this book as I have been with her previous ones, was the fact that I predicted several of the turns that were coming, and the ending, I still can’t get past that. I will not use the word contrived, because I would never accuse this author of that, she’s too awesome. I will use the words beyond bizarre, because no matter how I try to play the angles to get to that end, I simply didn’t get it. 

Better than Patterson? Definitely. Her best book yet? Definitely not. 

~ by generationgbooks on August 16, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
