Up Jumps The Devil by Michael Poore(4 out of 5)

This is another great debut novel. I read three in a row that were 4 star novels- and I had a rough week, so I’m glad that the books did not let me down. I encourage you to not only follow Michael on Twitter, but if you get a chance and he’s at a nearby book store, go buy the book and go to his events. He is quirky, extremely down-to-earth, and gracious to all. Again- BUY THE BOOK.

The book is about John Scratch, aka The Devil. The book goes back and forth in time, through the ages. You get an interesting and slightly sarcastic take on things through The Devil’s eyes(and may I say, I was charmed by the Devil as he is portrayed here). The Devil also has a soft spot- for Arden, an angel that he was friends with before angels were angels(I know that sounds ma-cheese-mo, but I know not a better way to put it). Arden goes back and forth in various forms and bodies, trying to live with The Devil in his new domain, but she seems destined and wanting to return to Heaven. There is the matter of amazing sex between them, but really, after the cows, well- I say no more, you have to buy the book and read it.  And wait for it. This part, not the amazing sex or the cows. Or if you like that sort of thing, then….wait on.

Though you see that The Devil has moments of attempting humanity throughout history as well as through his feelings for Arden, you also realize that he has that nasty side that can’t be ignored, nor can his enemies ignore it. That sets up the conclusion of this book. I don’t think I was really surprised by the end because I had a feeling I knew how it was going to end(about 40 pages from the end of the book). I shouldn’t have been surprised, as Devil is a book that courses through many different scenarios and times in history, and the facts are-the facts, maam. There are no surprises(it’s kind of hard to re-write history unless you’re writing in the alternate history format, but Poore keeps it fresh by writing those scenes in such a manner that you can’t help but be entertained. And entertained I was! I cannot tell you enough how much I enjoyed this. I didn’t enjoy that it had to end, but I will do my best to keep it going by selling the crap out of it.

~ by generationgbooks on August 26, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
