In The Pleasure Groove by John Taylor(5 out of 5)

There’s no way in hell I wasn’t giving this book 5 stars….and no, not just because I’m a tad bit obsessed with Duran Duran. (PS- I am!).

John Taylor has been the founder and bass player for Duran Duran since the beginning. It’s been quite a ride, 30 plus years. Here you get the whole story- from his upbringing in Birmingham, to his long-time friendship with Nick Rhodes(they lived right near each other), to the bands before Duran, his influences, the birth of Duran Duran, what really happened with all those models(he’s a gentleman and really doesn’t tell, I think if he told more, it would have been more of a salacious memoir, and I don’t have the impression that John Taylor goes that well-travelled road), what happened with various breakups and makeups with the band(ie: Andy Taylor), his battle with sobriety, his love of parenting, his love of California, how he met his current wife- you get the whole story. He cuts to the chase much of the book, and it made it so much easier to absorb the story and enjoy the story.

Would I recommend this? Oh yes. Would I say it’s the whole story? I’d say Andy’s book Wild Boys comes closer to getting into the nitty-gritty side of Duran Duran. I’d say John’s book is the Gentleman’s Tale. I love Andy’s book, but I think John’s has the edge on him- just a little bit. There’s a generosity in spirit in his words, whereas with Andy you get the impression he was still trying to figure out where it went wrong and who did whom wrong. John’s definitely was worth the wait.

~ by generationgbooks on October 21, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
