The Art of Men(I Prefer Mine Al Dente) by Kirstie Alley(4 out of 5)

This is a great little book. Kirstie Alley, never known to be a denizen of subtlety, writes a book in which she spins anecdotes, tragic tales, and outright funny as hell tales(Tim Matheson, I will never think of you fondly again after THAT story), centered around the men who have shaped her(father, grandfather), loved her(ex-husband, best guy friends, Patrick Swayze!), lost her(quite a few), and been by her side throughout her career(various managers, The Cheers gang, Maks from Dancing with the Stars!). Of course, this is imbued with the sarcastic humor you would expect from Kirstie Alley. It made me laugh my ass off, it made me tear up at parts(the part about having to bury her mother then rush across country to make a Hollywood audition, her suffering a miscarriage and finding out she will never have kids, and  the part about the emotional abuse she suffered at the hands of one of her ex’s), and it made me think more highly of her than I already had. If you want a great, funny book with great advice about men, this is it.

PS- The only part I had a problem with was the chapter on Scientology, only because I think it’s a crock of shit and despite the fact that she worded it more logically and less insanely than previous celebrities(hello Tom Cruise!), I just don’t dig Dianetics, nor will I ever. She doesn’t try to convert you, but she does a fair share of explaining how it works and then goes out of her way to mention that she’s not endorsing it. She really isn’t, because L.Ron Hubbard is a male figure who figured prominently in her life and continues to do so(Scientology, as she explains in the book, helped her kick a bad cocaine habit, therefore, it is a useful and lifesaving tool in her case), but I got about ten sentences through and I felt like setting a stuffed panda bear on fire(usually a good cue to quit reading, in my case).

Otherwise, I highly recommend this book. Great if you have a lot of stuff going on, extracurricular or extraneous, or extranerdtacular(yes, I made that up. And yes, I resemble), and find it hard to concentrate on something super intense or requiring of much concentration(Ken Follett’s new book comes to mind, although I’m dying to read it).

~ by generationgbooks on November 22, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
