Flimsy Little Plastic Miracles by Ron Currie, Jr. (4 out of 5)

The flimsy, little plastic miracles mentioned in the title- are nicotine patches. This book-is like nothing I have ever read. I mean that in the most complimentary way. I loved the book.

The author in the book(also named Ron Currie Jr.-wait for it) ends up faking his own suicide. Where does that path lead? Imminent success. Fame, fortune, accolades. Which isn’t how it’s supposed to work. Emma is the woman of Ron’s dreams, heart, emotional roller coaster ride, etc. The relationship itself, and how it’s recounted, is hilarious, yet heart-wrenching in moments. But really, who hasn’t been through that at least once in their life? The sense of humor that stays there, despite Ron’s heartache, goes a long way toward keeping the interest of the reader. I actually wanted to smack the crap out of Emma through much of the book, such was my sympathy with Ron. Throw in heartbreak over Ron’s father passing from cancer, something that emotes throughout the book, and you connect with the character. Best part of the book for me? When he’s on trial. I can’t even tell you how great that whole scenario plays out and has you laughing out loud. 

There are sporadic interruptions and ruminations on random and story-related things. Those are, while distracting, highly entertaining and only added to the value of the book. I think the concept of the author telling his story after faking his death and then getting famous- is such a unique concept I think I may have been sold on the book before I actually sat down and read it. I also really enjoyed the format of un-numbered, uneven chapters. The font was great. The stream of consciousness was great. Everything- even the cover was great. What kept it from being 5 stars? Seriously- Emma. I hate the character of Emma. I’m not sure why I am more sympathetic to Ron when it’s clear that Emma deserves some love due to the rambunctious relationship with Ron, but I really just wanted to see her thrown in a crate and shipped to Borneo. Stat. 

If you want an unpredictable book that delivers laughs, questions, and all-around truths(Nicholas Sparks sucks, for example), this is the book you need to read. 

~ by generationgbooks on February 15, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
