The World’s Strongest Librarian by Josh Hanagarne(5 out of 5)

This is the first book I’ve read twice in a row over the span of one week. It’s definitely number one on my list of 2013 Favorites. I know, due to my love of reading and the fact that it’s only April, there will be more. But this is the first entry for this year. I have read many other great books this year, but if I were to award a book TEN stars, this would be the book–so we’re going to name this G’s First Best Book of 2013… Please hold your applause until the review is over, please.

Josh Hanagarne is a young man who discovers at as an impressionable teen that he has Tourette’s. He actually takes this pretty well and keeps his sense of self-deprecating humor throughout the book and into adulthood. The kids he goes to school with aren’t as nice. He has a hard time trying to impress the ladies with tics that can start up any time, but it doesn’t stop him from trying. His parents form a solid family unit that serve him with humor, reality, and love. His Mormon upbringing and faith see him through(don’t worry, it’s not an overly religious book, so if that scares you in any capacity, don’t let it). What transcends all? His love of books and reading- it all goes back to the books. He gets a job as a librarian at the Salt Lake City Public Library, and that’s where the real fun begins. I thought I had heard and read it all until I read this book. I thought the true freaks hang out in bookstores- oh no, my friends—the library is where the true freaks hang out! Consider yourself enlightened by that fact after you finish reading Josh’s book. Throw in his new past-time- weightlifting, and you have one hell of a read. Josh’s journey is never boring, never sad, never woeful. It’s inspiring, funny, and makes you think differently about almost everything you might find yourself bitching about on a daily basis. I hope Josh writes another book- I think I have found a new favorite voice to listen to.

But do yourself a favor- when this book comes out in May, buy it, read it, love it, and recommend it to anyone you know. You won’t be sorry you did.  

~ by generationgbooks on April 8, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
