Meaty: Essays by Samantha Irby (5 out of 5)

                                                                                      Image

 

I have to thank Felicia for pointing this one out to me. She guessed, as she often does, correctly in thinking it is the sort of book someone with my guttermind sensibilities and celibate views would enjoy. She was right on.

Samantha Irby is a Chicagoan who has her own blog, BitchesGottaEat.com. With a blog name like that, she’s got my attention. She has a cult following, and it’s not hard to see why. I don’t think I’ve read a book that made my side hurt so bad that I thought I was going to birth a hedgehog, from laughing. I don’t think I’ve come close to peeing my pants from laughing since I read Jen Lawson’s book. Samantha is my new Jen Lawson. I think there are going to be people who outright love this book, and have the sense of humor and sarcasm that will make you appreciate it and recommend it to everyone you know. Then there are those highly offended, martini-swilling repressed housewives who will shudder at her descriptive essays of body part woes. I would recommend to those bitches that they go have another martini and fuck the butler. The rest of you need to do yourselves a favor and read this. She is extraordinarily blunt, hilarious, and to be frank, right about almost all the stuff she says in this book of essays.

Samantha chronicles her tough childhood- she lost both of her parents at a young age, but she soldiered on and survived. She talks frankly about her battle with the dating “rules”, with dating “websites”, with dating in general. She doesn’t sugarcoat anything, and her adventures in the dating world, as it is these days, aren’t only accurate, but she manages to make you feel as if you aren’t alone in trying to navigate the minefield of dating these days. I was bemoaning my lack of male companionship until I read this book. Samantha has managed to convince me, in under 300 pages, that being single and celibate isn’t the end of the world. Oddly enough, all of my married and sequestered friends say the opposite. Well, they can suck it! There’s no ‘uncomfortable’ topic of dating no no’s that Samantha doesn’t address and harpoon in her very unique and individual style. 

You also get educated on Crohn’s disease, which she’s had for a number of years. There is no nice way to describe Crohn’s, and she doesn’t use princess language to tell her side of things. You hear about how Crohn’s has made her eating and general lifestyle habits get a radical overhaul, the hell you go through with the medical field in both diagnosis and treatment, the altering of your lifestyle in many ways that people who don’t have this couldn’t even imagine, not to mention the effect it has on her love life and long-term prospects. I can’t begin to imagine how hard it is to live it, let alone write about it, and to do it with humor, even more impressive. 

There isn’t enough I can say about how awesome this book is. If you are, however, a prissy pants, these aren’t the droids you’re looking for. If you love a strong, brutally honest, hilarious take on all things relating to love, dating, eating, survival, tacos, and Crohn’s, these ARE the droids you’re looking for. And you should pass them on to as many people as possible. 

~ by generationgbooks on October 6, 2013.

One Response to “Meaty: Essays by Samantha Irby (5 out of 5)”

  1. I will definitely be reading this! Thanks for telling me about it through Good Reads…I started reading her blog and it is hilarious!!! Love your review; especially the use of “these aren’t the droids you are looking for.”

Leave a Reply

 
