Fear of Intimacy and The Tango Cure by Perri Iezzoni (5 out of 5)

Image

I had not heard of this book until Perri Iezzoni, the author, got ahold of me on LinkedIn and asked to read it and review it. He sent me a copy for free so I could read it and review it. Thanks, Perri. I enjoyed it.

It’s hard for anyone to admit they have a fear of anything. To admit you have a fear of intimacy? That takes it to a whole new level. Perri’s marriage has just ended after 10 years,  and he finds himself on a personal quest to find out what could have been different, and what he needs to do to learn from his past shortcomings. The questions and his search for self leads him to take up the Tango, long known to be the “Booty Call” of all dances.  Through Perri’s eyes, you dissect the dance through the steps, and you aren’t bored doing so.  You learn a lot in the process. The rules of engagement contained within the dance, how you should and should not treat your partner, the subtlety of the messages that are transmitted through the dance, as well as the common misconceptions about the Tango. I learned a hell of a lot, and I am not at all versed in dance (nor can I. Ask my exes. The Cabbage Patch and The Carlton do NOT count as legit dances). Not only did I learn a lot, but so did Perri, and so will those who read this book.

I really enjoyed the way Perri told his story. There was no BS, no easy-way out scenarios, only unabashed truth and honesty. Sometimes I read memoirs and halfway through think to myself “There’s no way this happened in this manner.” Definitely not the case here. You almost feel as if you are right there with Perri as he works through his issues with the help of the Tango and the wonderful people he meets while learning the craft. Not only that, but Perri’s humor shows throughout the book. He may be down on himself due to the end of his marriage, but you feel like this man is going to make it. There is a true heart beating in this book. It’s not a step-by-step manual, rather an enjoyable, quick read.  He learns much about himself in the process, and so do those lucky enough to give this memoir a shot.  I highly enjoyed it and highly recommend it.

~ by generationgbooks on November 23, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
