The Cambion by Paul W. Nielsen (4 out of 5)

Image

 

This one has an interesting story to it. Paul added me to his network on LinkedIn and asked me to review the book. It took me a while to get to it (too many books, too little time, seriously). When I did, I have to say I really enjoyed it. I hope he gets his due with his novel.

When Dr. Beth Carmichael and her husband visit Gettsyburg, they don’t leave with just memories and Civil War history stories. Unfortunately for them, Beth’s connection to a previous life begins to tip their current life upside down and right side up, in a way that is unlike anything I have read in a novel yet. Beth has an encounter with a young man’s ghost. The young man, she believes, is her son who was killed years past. Not only does the young man’s ghost follow Beth and her husband back, but along with it comes a malevolent force (cambion) that’s determined to wreck havoc upon Beth and her husband.  The cambion moves with stealth, damaging the core of her marriage by using seductive wiles in the dark of the night to rip Beth’s world apart. Beth has help with a paranormal researcher, but to do what needs to be done to dispel the evil cambion, may be the end of them all.  You hear stories of the supernatural aura from people in everyday life, and either you believe those forces exist or you don’t. To read the premise that forces like this do exist, well, it’s scary as hell and fascinating at the same time. The novel proceeds with frightening force. A stunning conclusion tops off a great story.

I really loved this book. I cannot tell you enough how I tore through this book in the better part of two days, and while sick, no less. It was riveting. Absolutely loved it. I hope Paul gets the kudos he deserves for this novel. And thank you, Paul, for contacting me and letting me read and review it. I wish I got more novels like this one. It scared the shit out of me, and I love to tell people that I read so many books that it’s hard to do that. The last actual book that scared the shit out of me was Helter Skelter when I read it one weekend in 1989, and this one, well, I didn’t sleep well after reading parts of it. Do yourself a favor and give it a read.

~ by generationgbooks on March 25, 2014.

5 Responses to “The Cambion by Paul W. Nielsen (4 out of 5)”

  1. That book cover is awesome.

  2. I appreciate the review. To update you a little, the book has been re-issued with a new (better) cover, and has been re-edited. The new publisher has done a great job and I’m really proud of the new book. Its now available on Kindle, Nook, etc., as well as the paperback. The price of the new release is better too! Thanks for all your support.
    Paul W Nielsen

  3. Thanks for the great review! The Cambion has been re-released with a new cover and editing.

Leave a Reply

 
