Other Bound by Corinee Duyvis (3 out of 5)

I don’t have a cover image for this one because it’s not out yet (June, 2014). I had a galley that they sent me (Thank You, Amulet Books).

I had a hard time with this one. Still, I have to say that it runs along at a good pace and doesn’t get bogged down in parts. I just simply couldn’t align my planets with its orbit. The premise is startlingly original, though, and for that, I really have to give the author props. Nolan is a kid who’s just trying to live his everyday life, except he can’t, because he has moments, entire patches of time, where he transports into the world of Amara, a girl who lives in a different world, different culture, different set of highly dangerous circumstances. The frequent blackouts that Nolan has when he’s channeling (for I honestly know not what a better word would be) Amara have his parents believing he has epilepsy, when it’s something that can’t be fixed with a handful of pills. Amara’s situation? She’s a mute servant girl who’s living entrapped while protecting the life of a rebel princess, not only protecting, but literally,taking on whatever pain the princess endures.. It’s grittier than it sounds from this description. I can’t think of a better way to phrase it. Silk scarves and deluxe trail mix it is not. Nolan finally breaks on through- to Amara’s side, during a blackout, and manages to communicate what’s up (or what he believes is up, he’s also confused) to her. First she’s scared, but she quickly gets pissed. What pisses me off? Not much. That jerk Jorn pissed me off, because I do not believe he had the princess’ best wishes at heart. However, this book, is not at all like anything I’ve read. And I read a lot. You really buy into Amara and Nolan, and hope for the best in the situation. There’s danger, love, diversity in the cast of characters, a hellish location, and action on every other page.

Likely a book that will appeal to Divergent and Hunger Games fans, but I don’t think you can put it in any genre category. I would say Max Mad Beyond Thunderdome meets Spy Kids, but add some real unsavory characters and take away Antonio Banderas (although he might be able to play Jorn). Overall, a page-turning young adult book that crosses many new boundaries that I have not read in a book as of yet. Fast moving, and with two highly sympathetic leads, you can’t lose. 

~ by generationgbooks on March 29, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
