Magnificent Vibration by Rick Springfield (5 out of 5)

No book cover for this one. There was a book cover from this morning’s post, but my 787 word review of this gem disappeared, while the cover remained. Since it was one of the reviews that I actually enjoyed writing, the loss hurts. More than it should, as this is just my little old book blog. Anyhow, I’m a huge 80’s fan. Most of you are aware of this. I’m a huge Rick Springfield fan. Most of you are aware of this. I’m a huge fan of Rick’s autobiography Late, Late At Night. Most of my blog followers are aware of this. If not, roll yourself back last year at this time and read the review. I’m fairly certain I cannot make it more clear how much I love Rick Springfield. I am, however, fully aware that I have to be somewhat biased. Say, for example, one of my Duran members wrote an autobiography that sucked it, I would say it. Despite the fact that a million bloodied Duran Duran daggers were sticking out of my bottomless soul. Anyway, now you see why it was better that my review this morning didn’t stick around. I ramble more as the day wears on. This is his first go at fiction, and I LOVED it. So much so that I finally finished it late, late last night (see what I did there?) and am re-reading it again starting today. Only 55 pages in and it’s still funny as hell.

Horatio Cotton (or as he prefers to be known, Bobby or Bob. He doesn’t like the name. Personally, I love the name Horatio. I don’t like the name Bobby because it brings up that awful King Of The Hill Show and it’s a Brady Bunch kid, so ixnay on both fronts as far as I’m concerned. For the sake of those reading the blog, I will simply call him Bobby, because that’s what the character calls himself for most of the book) is going through some serious shit. He’s 32, has found out his wife has been screwing around with every Tom, Dick, Harry, Benny, and Bjorn this side of Planet Earth, and he’s floundering in other aspects of his life. In hope for some divine intervention (literally), he steals a self-help book called Magnificent Vibration. Inside said book is a 1-800 number, that may or may not be, a direct line to God. THAT God. Bobby calls and has quite a dialogue with this person calling themselves God. He honestly has no idea what the hell to think. He then meets up with Alice, a sexy nun at the bar. Alice bought the same book that Bobby stole, and her book has that same exact number in it. So, ask yourself, what’s the best way to figure out if this guy is THE God, or just a scam artist? There are inevitably bizarre questions put forth, including and not limited to God texting and existence of “Nessie”, the Loch Ness Monster. You read that right. In fact, the Loch Ness Monster has quite a role in this gem. Intrigued? So are Bobby and Alice..to the point that they decide it’s time to go on their own and seek answers to this. They have to battle their own demons, their temptations, and they also might have to save the planet. While having absolutely hilarious dialogues with God. (Capital “G”, little “o”, little “d”). Do they find the answers to their problems? Or is the whole spiritual thing a front for some shyster who tells you to go get drunk at the nearest bar so you can strike out making advances at the forbidden fruit of the exotic nun? Intrigued? You should be. Need to buy it? You absolutely should.

I will tell you right off the bat that if you have friends or acquaintances who are devout, this is not a book to get them. Even if you mean well and as a bit of a joke, I am pretty certain if you gift a person with this book, you will definitely be on someone’s shit list. Not burning in hell, as a blurb on Amazon promises. Or maybe, if you were, that’s half the fun. If hell is anywhere as funny as this book is, book me a first class ticket. Seriously, though, Bobby and Alice are great, very human characters on a precipice of uncertainty at where they are both going in their lives. And God (or whomever that mystery entity is), well, has a lot more of a wicked sense of humor than I thought possible. There’s a lot of dark humor here, which Springfield was great at conveying in the autobiography, and which has a wider canvas to be displayed with this work. He does a great job of painting that, but edging it with some very real colors in the way of deep, thought provoking questions that stick with you after you’re finished. There were times when I set the book down and thought “Holy shit, that’s a pertinent question right there.” You don’t always get that right away, and that’s why this book rocks. I love books that are dark, funny, and yet leave you with some semblance of intelligent thought. This does all of that and more. Get your keister out and buy it as soon as possible.

~ by generationgbooks on May 22, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
