We Were Liars by E. Lockhart (5 out of 5)

The image has disappeared on me again. Well, this was a young adult/teen/year 12 read. Although there are no age dimensions in place with teen books these days- it’s this age and above. Not normally a book I would have read, but I won it in a blog hop and one of my blogger friends loved it so much that I had to read it. I’m highly entertained that my former district manager at the other job just finished it, at the same time, and loved it as well. It also doesn’t escape notice that I read this not long after the Herman Koch book, which had a similar plot, regarding shenanigans stationed around a vacation home. I guess those who long for such things tend to read about them? Who knows? I do know that I loved this book.

Cadence Sinclair Easton (what a name, you know you’re in for it right there) is from a family loaded with old money. Every year, as some old court families do, they gather at the summer home and partake in an extended siesta. One particularly wicked year it’s Cadence, her cousins Mirren and Johnny, and their friend Gat (they make up “The Liars” of the title). Cadence suffers a mysterious accident that puts her out of commission. She spends the next few years suffering deliberating migraines, amnesia, and whacked out of her mind on pain pills, and nothing comes to her as far as recognition of what went down. There are glimpses of betrayal, forbidden desire, greed, questions of race and class, family obligations, and of course, lies. Numerous and life-changing, and not for the better, in much of the scenarios. Cadence is a character I initially wanted to smack with a canoe paddle, but then I ended up feeling sorry for her. The others should be sent in a kayak down the river Styx with moldy marshmallows and life jackets made of Gortex. It’s a quick read. Once you get sucked into this tale of insanity, well, you’re not going anywhere until you’re done reading it. I finished it in two hours, and it’s not a very big book. One word of caution- that ending…you don’t see it coming. It perfectly capped off what turned out to be one hell of a book. Enjoy. 

~ by generationgbooks on July 20, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
