Doctor Who: The Crawling Terror by Mike Tucker (5 out of 5)

untitled 

Okay, I confess, this is only my 2nd Doctor Who novel. The first, which I read back in September, was pretty good, and it was only after watching the newest incarnation of the good Doctor that I decided it was time to quit screwing around and really give the franchise my undivided attention. I asked my friend to lend me her copies, but I have a feeling they’re lost somewhere and it might be awhile before I see them, so I got sick of waiting and bought all of them this week. This one, as predicted by my other friend who has read all of them, is kick ass. So yes, go buy this one and read it. Just not before bed, or you will have odd dreams. And every little noise will make you jump sky high, because you’ll think a gigantic spider or mosquito is hovering nearby, ready to pounce. (Oddly enough, this sounds like my workplace).

The good Doctor and Clara and the Tardis end up in Wiltshire/Ringstone, where the entire town is seemingly trapped inside by giant spider webs that aren’t that easy to get out of. The horror begins when a young mother goes to her daughter’s aid when she starts crying over a daddy longlegs. Another guy is leaving the pub when he walks into a giant web- literally. A little boy gets attacked by a mosquito- a gigantic mosquito. Things do not improve, and not even the military can stop these fatalistic insects. Where did they come from? Why the hell are they attacking the town? Does the science park in the little town have anything to do with it? What about the stone circle, and the mysterious engravings? Can these terrors be halted? Can the Doctor and Clara figure it out and save the town from the evildoers behind this infestation?

Now, I am still new to this whole side of pop culture, but I really did enjoy this book. It scared the crap out of me! I also liked the slightly more serious Doctor. Any history angle in a novel  is great, but this one took on a more serious tone, which I love. Capaldi’s Doctor doesn’t want to deal with any military personnel, and that’s wonderfully illustrated. The whole thing reminded me a bit of a 1950’s movie about the unforeseen elements of the secret police. I like, as always, that you never know where you’re going to end up with a Doctor Who novel, and that element of surprise takes things up a notch. So ,yes, when the story does finally unwind, it’s a doozy. I wouldn’t have expected that in a hundred years, and it’s pretty terrifying as it does unfurl.

~ by generationgbooks on January 3, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
