Damage Done by Amanda Panitch (5 out of 5)

untitled

Well, this one surprised me. I really didn’t think I was going to dig it that much. The cover ^ is creepy as all hell! But I read the back of the ARC that the Random Rep sent to our children’s buyer and thought “Eh, maybe”. I am glad I don’t always listen to my inner voice with books. Sometimes, the ones I believe are going to be golden turn out to be false idols painted with gold spray paint. This was one of those that I believed was going to be “okay”. See, the problem is I REALLY like psychological thrillers, and this is billed as one. Since the roller coaster that was Gone Girl, I am really careful to have preconceived notions of grandeur; especially as Flynn was an author who I think highly of, and that book, well, you all know what I thought. Anyway, I finally got sick and tired of the creepy cover staring at me from the Random pile on my bookshelf, so I picked it up. A hour and 20 minutes later, DONE. It is that startling, that original, that spooky, and full of more twists and turns than an oxygen tank in the Arctic. So do yourself a favor- pick it up and read it! When it comes out, of course- it’s not out until July 21, 2015. And yes, it’s a young adult novel that young adults and adults can enjoy. You give this to a 8-year old? You’ll be paying for family therapy for years to come!

Julia Vann’s life changed completely in 22 minutes. She had a normal life; her twin brother, her boyfriend, and a best friend. And then, just as quick….it’s gone. Her old life, her identity, and her brother. What happened in that 22 minutes? Julia becomes Lucy Black and in her new life, moves on. Or does she? Lucy’s got a new beau, who’s determined to keep her safe. Then enters someone who’s onto Julia/Lucy’s secrets and past. She thought she was past this, but now this dangerous force is questioning everything she’s said and done. Let me tell you this- any and all assumptions you will make during the reading of this book? Will be way off, and when things are revealed, you have more twists and turns to unravel, and nothing, nothing, nothing is as it seems. I really felt like I was re-reading We Were Liars by E. Lockhart all over again. Except I think this one may be more stunning. When you hit the conclusion to this, well, you’re going to be stunned. I put the book down and had to pick it up and re-read it again. I really did not think it would end like that, and that’s the best part! I had NO idea where she was heading with this book, but once I got to it, holy crap! There was a blurb somewhere (on the ARC?) comparing it to Gillian Flynn. No, no, no. It’s far better.

Damage Done by Amanda Panitch is out via Penguin Random House on July 21, 2015.

~ by generationgbooks on February 10, 2015.

Leave a Reply

