We Are All Made of Molecules by Susan Nielsen (4 out of 5)

untitled

I’ve been trying to read lighter books recently. More lighthearted, funny, heartwarming stuff. I tend to do this when the going gets tough, and it has been lately. A lot of that heavy stuff, so I have been reading books that are more fun and quirky. My music has been happier, more uptempo. Television has been sports- so when I get aggravated that the home team is not winning, I yell, swear, and vent, which gets all the negative energy out. Why am I telling you all of this? Well, in case you follow this blog and wonder where all my “serious picks” have disappeared to (yes, I will eventually get back to the biography of Napoleon’s crazy sister! Thanks for asking, Alison). Now you know! They will eventually return at a time when it’s not all dark in the life sector. The one was buried in a pile of many, many, many teen and year 8 titles that I still have to read. I looked at the date on the side and saw it was this month, so I read it. In 2 hours. What fun! I always love the books where the opposites attract and attempt to make that elusive gold standard known as a relationship work. Even when it’s teens- because we all have to start on that dysfunction junction somewhere, don’t we? This book is a ton of fun, that’s the simplest way I can sum it up!

Stewart is a 13-year old ridiculously book smart kid, but he has no damn social skills. Ashley is the 14-year old “Ms Thang”, but she sucks at school. Things are about to get crazy, and I don’t mean maybe, when Stewart and his dad move in with Ashley and her mom. I loved Stewart right away because he’s a cute, affable kid who just wants people to like him for him. Ashley’s kind of a stuck up little witch at first, and took awhile for me to warm to, but eventually you see the vulnerability hiding, and then you begin to like her. Again, my POV, yours may differ. You see that the parents may be treading down the path to the obvious, and the fact that it did head in that direction kind of made me shake my head. There could have been a different character thrown into the mix, and mixed things up even more, but they went the route of “mom and dad falling in love, and opposite sides of the social and academic scale must learn to live together and tolerate each other for peace”. A few hurdles are thrown at Stewart and Ashley, including a doozy at the end, and by the end of the book, the opposites have found a way to co-exist. So all’s beginning is a happy ending, but the in between is a lot of fun. I laughed aloud quite a bit, and I felt good all over when I finished this book. I would highly recommend it to anyone who likes John Green, but with a HAPPY ending, not that “Fault In Our Stars” tomfoolery. I think Nielsen has a bright future if she sticks to these happy, fun books with a nice morale center. The only thing that drove me into a bit of a tizzy was Ashley’s cantankerous attitude in the first half of the book, but angsty teenager has an attitude? Yes, I know. And the parents ending up together was a bit too predictable for me, but otherwise, don’t stop yourself from buying this for your teen. It’s a great book with a good message, and a lot of laugh-out loud moments.

~ by generationgbooks on May 17, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
