Throw The Motherfucker in the Trash! Today’s selection: Every Fifteen Minutes by Lisa Scottoline

untitled

Today begins a new feature at generationgbooks: Throw That Motherfucker in the Trash! I’ve run into some books that were so bad I just could not finish them, or worse yet, I read to the end and was kicking myself for doing so. I’ve had a few of those. I read a lot, but the books overwhelm me at times, so I’ve gotten more selective. So if I’m reading it and not digging it at all, it’ll be one of my picks for “Throw that Motherfucker”.

Lisa Scottoline is an author whose work I greatly respect. I’ve read all of them and enjoyed all of them. So when I got my hands on this book about a week ago, it went onto the living room pile (I have piles of books in different rooms of the house, different bags, etc. When I’m in that room, I’ll pick up whatever and read it. If you wonder how I’m often reading 5 or 6 books at once, this process helps that along). I got to it on Tuesday night. Took it to work Wed. Wed was slow in Bookville, so I had time to read a bit before shipment got there. I was ready to rip my hair out, my face off, and write an email to her beseeching her for releasing this book to her publisher. This is not the same author that I know and love. This book is so full of clichés and insipid title characters that you want the SOCIOPATH to win. You want the sociopath to win. Absorb that. The lead psychiatrist, Eric, who’s divorcing his wife and battling for custody, is a bowl of limp Shredded Wheat. I was rooting for the bitch wife! The sociopath is not what you think, as they usually aren’t, and the women in the book are truly something else. You write unsympathetic characters, but you also have a smattering of sympathetic characters, but something is really wrong in Dizneeland when you are rooting for the bad guy(s). When an entire half of a chapter is spent ruminating what shade of pink Eric should paint his daughter’s room (page 83), I carried on to page 101, but NOTHING had happened at all to move the plot along. This is a book supposedly centering around the psychiatrist being aware that his patient, the aforementioned sociopath, has dangerous obsessive designs on a young lady, and should he tell the police? Page 101 out of almost 480 and the psychiatrist is pondering the peculiarities of one shade of pink vs the other. No thanks, Ms. Scottoline, I have to throw this motherfucker in the trash.
Avoid at all costs, dear reader. Check out her back catalog. This one blows.

~ by generationgbooks on July 30, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
