Almost Interesting: The Memoir by David Spade (4 out of 5)

th

I received a copy of this from Jenny at Harper. Thank you, Jenny! I started it a month ago when at the VA with my dad and sister. He was getting some bloodwork and tests and all kinds of non-fun stuff, and I was very tense, so I brought this with me to take my mind off of things. I was halfway through it and laughing my ass off…on a day I normally would not be doing so. I went to work and told my coworker Andrew how much I enjoyed it that far. Then I tweeted a thank you to David Spade and got a RT and favorite tweet and a well-wish for my father, from his fan site as well. Incredibly nice. I’m sure the dude has a ton of people tweeting him (It STILL sounds wrong!) and he replies to me. Then my own damn depression took over and I set the book down- for three long weeks. A three week period where I only read one book is like a day in the media without a Kardashian’s fat ass getting an article. I picked it up recently and finished it.

I have to admit something here. I was not always a David Spade fan. I didn’t begrudge him the arid sense of humor and the “Hollywood” segments on SNL were hilarious, and something that I enjoyed. I wasn’t a big fan of Joe Dirt, however. My friend Jennie may have some blame in that, though- she was and still is OBSESSED with Mr. Spade. To each their own. I loved Tommy Boy. I watched him on Just Shoot Me! and Rules Of Engagement (that show had him and Patrick Warburton, also known as David Puddy from “Seinfeld”, another favorite of mine from nighttime television). But over the years, I’ve grown to like him more and more. I asked for this memoir because I really wanted to see if all of those monologues and his act was just that- an act. Revelation time- it’s NOT an act! This guy is exactly whom you’ve seen him as over the years. That, in itself, is refreshing. Those in Hollyweird turn people weird; it’s nice to see that David Spade speaks exactly as you would expect him to, from his abbreviations (situation is “sitch”, etc) to jumping all over the place. One moment he’s in the present, the next he’s in childhood again. No matter where he is, though, the reader is entertained. The book, as I said, does kind of run around a bit as far as time goes, but the portion of the book relating to his friendship with Chris Farley, well, be prepared for tissues. You’ll need them. What a beautiful tribute to the tragic comic figure gone too soon. The first half of the book is awesome (especially the SNL backstage banter and tips on navigating the hallowed halls of Lorne Michaels’ playland) but the second half gets a little weird. The narrative runs a bit wild, with stories of assistants getting arrested, drugs entering the picture for a brief time, many girlfriends here and there, some thoughts from the man himself on why he’ll never marry, and all sorts of other free-range thoughts that are kind of all over the place. Again, though- if you know the style of humor that Mr. Spade practices, this will likely not surprise you. It threw me off a bit, though, so I would have to take some away from it. It kind of went on a magical carpet ride the second half, while the first half he stayed in his desk at school, waiting to be let out of detention. This memoir in general? It’s like skipping detention altogether. Dry wit, biting sarcasm, and some very fun and succinct thoughts on fellow Hollyweird personalities bring a fun life out into the spotlight for a little while, and that’s a spotlight well earned with this quick read.

~ by generationgbooks on November 2, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
