Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace (4 out of 5)

th

This is a young adult book that I am not sure if I picked, if it was something Holly thought I would like, or if it was one of Jenny’s picks. Jenny is the rep for Harper Collins. This novel is not out yet; it won’t be out until January 26, 2016. I will tell you that if you like spooky, you’ll like this one. 17- year old Breezy wakes up in a shallow grave one year after she’s died- no idea why, how, or who did this to her. Something like that would great disorient anyone. Breezy isn’t just anyone, though- she’s in a state where she’s conscious and can sense when someone is a killer or has murder on the mind. She meets a lot of other supernaturals around her…quite a few, in fact, that I had to keep a little piece of paper on the side with who was who and their role in the book. The only thing Breezy wakes up with is an obvious pattern of bruises around her neck and a dead man lying at her grave. She just knows that somehow, someway she was involved. The question now is- what the hell happened? Who are all these people? Why is she in this state and why can she sense murderous impulses? Will she always be like that, or will she go back to dead once she figures out what happens? If she figures out what happens? What about all of these other supernatural friends she has now met? What’s the deal?

Tons of questions, many of which are answered. Breezy is a great character; I really enjoyed her overall. I also enjoyed the book, but it took awhile to grow on me. I’m not a huge fan of the horror genre, and this is an extremely chilling book bordering on horror. I wouldn’t recommend the young ones or the adults reading this one before you try to drift off to sleep. Spooky, odd dreams will ensue. I enjoyed the supernatural friends, the only problem was, as I said, a few too many and a bit too much magic going on in the side-show and that took away from the plot a little bit for me. Not much. But enough that it made me lose some interest in the book. Which is hard, because it is complex, weird, and spooky. Spooky. Spooky. Which I loved. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who likes a little bit of horror with their reading. Just don’t read it before bed. Trust me!

~ by generationgbooks on November 3, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
