But Enough About Me by Burt Reynolds (5 out of 5)

51a+gmZkzwL__SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

Go ahead and admit it. You have a crush on Burt Reynolds. We all do. Say you don’t and I’m going to call you a liar. I picked this up originally thinking it was his FIRST memoir, until my fellow colleague Rick at the Willis Tower store enlightened me (Thank you, Rick). This is the second book from Burt Reynolds. The first, his autobiography, came out in 1993. This is a collection of those who have played a part in his life and vignettes of his time with those people. Every chapter is a person who has enriched his life. There are no apologies for his shitty behavior through the years, nor are there any get-out-of-jail-free cards for those who didn’t deserve them. There were many moments in this book where I laughed aloud, others where I was close to tears, still others where I shook my fist at the page in Burt’s defense (I mean you, Loni Anderson!), and a number of them where this phrase was uttered: “Burt Reynolds, you’re a cool motherfucker”. The recollections from the cinematic films that graced my childhood and youth were some of my favorite parts of the book. The recollections of his exes are no holds barred, strangely nostalgic, and yet still brutally honest about why it didn’t work out. You have to have a strong respect for someone who opens up his life in the page and tells it like it is, warts and all. I’ve read memoirs where you can tell it’s all just shiny wrapping paper and bows when it was really Jaws and blood spatter Not here. The parts of the book where he addresses his difficult relationship with his father are touching. I can tell you I’ll never watch “Deliverance” again without knowledge of some of what went down on the scenes making that movie. Equally compelling are the behind-the-scenes of classics “Deliverance”, “Smokey and The Bandit”, and “Boogie Nights”. The “Boogie Nights” explanation of the movie and his well-publicized displeasure with P.T. Anderson is eye-opening. You just can’t hate this guy! I loved him before I read this book, I love him more after I’m through with it. It is a GREAT gift for someone you love this holiday season.

~ by generationgbooks on December 13, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
