Guest Post: Holly’s Favorite Children’s Books of 2015

 

12226828_877133035734318_639860600_n

Most of you know Holly from my many blog posts picking on her for heaping more and more children and teen titles on me. Some of you know her from my picking on her on Facebook with her borderline organization/planner madness (Hi Darcy!). I was telling Holly how I have done some guest posts for Erica over at EricaFinds.com and I told her she she should do one since she knows kids books so well. So here is Holly’s guest post of her top children’s picks for 2015. There are some additions and corrections to the piece of paper Holly provided me with. I have a bit of an issue with editing, grammar, punctuation, etc. and Holly just kind of wrote things in a manner that I had to edit. This goes on daily- ask her how often she wants or does punch me because I correct something she says or writes. So, here without further ado, is Holly’s post.

Georgette often comments on the blog about how I force Teen and YR8 children’s titles on her. In all fairness, there are some she actually ends up loving! (See post about her top 15 books of 2015, plus the 13 to watch in 2016; a decent majority ARE the books I am posting about here today). We kept coming across articles toward last year’s end about the best in children’s literature for 2015, and those were lists I don’t think either of us quite agreed with. So she told me to do a guest post with my list. For those of you who don’t know, I a the children’s frontlist buyer for Barbara’s Bookstore. I read a lot of teen and children’s books, although I do sometimes manage to sneak an adult fiction title in there. In fact, two of my favorite books last year were THE WATER KNIFE by Paolo Bacigalupi and The Tournament by Matthew Reilly.

Now to the good stuff! I did my top picks by age group, and then did a Top 5 for each. I made an exception to my own rule with Teen, which has 10 picks. The books, by the way, are in no particular order.

Kids First Books: These are known to many as “board books”. These are primarily for the age group of newborn-2 years. The picks offer either wonderful illustrations and or fun interactions.  DREAM ANIMALS BY EMILY WINFIELD MARTIN, ON THE FARM BY KATE RIGGS, ITSY BITSY SNOWMAN BY JEFFERY BURTON, TEN PENGUINS BY SCHOLASTIC, AND DOGS BY MATTHEW VAN FLEET.

Children’s Hardcover Storybooks: LITTLE ELLIOT, BIG FAMILY BY MIKE CURATO, OTTER IN SPACE BY SAM GARTON, COUNTING LIONS BY KATE COTTON, STRICTLY NO ELEPHANTS BY LISA MANTCHEV, AND RED BY MICHAEL HALL.

Children’s Non-Fiction: PERCY JACKSON’S GUIDE TO GREEK HEROES BY RICK RIORDAN, HISTORIUM BY JO NELSON, CHOOSING COURAGE BY PETER COLLIER, UNTAMED: WILD LIFE OF JANE GOODALL BY ANITA SILVEY, AND DANCERS OF THE WORLD BY AURELIA HARDY.

Chapter Books for Ages 8-13: ELLIE’S STORY BY BRUCE CAMERON, BOX AND DRAGONFLY (THE KEEPERS #1) BY TED SANDERS, CONVERGENCE (ZODIAC TRILOGY #1) BY STAN LEE, MAGNUS CHASE & THE SWORD OF SUMMER BY RICK RIORDAN, MARK OF THIEF (#1) BY JENNIFER NIELSEN, AND BLACKTHORN KEY BY KEVIN SANDS.

Children’s Series: TOMBQUEST BY MICHAEL NORTHRUP, COPERNICUS LEGACY BY TONY ABBOTT, MAGISTERIUM BY HOLLY BLACK, 8TH CONTINENT BY MATT LONDON, AND MAPMAKERS BY SC GROVE.

Teen: ILLUMINAE BY ARNIE KAUFMAN, EMBER IN THE ASHES BY SABAA TAHIR, INK AND BONE BY RACHEL CAINE, RED QUEEN BY VICTORIA AVEYARD, DEATH & LIFE OF ZEBULON FINCH BY DANIEL KRAUS, COURT OF FIVES BY KATE ELLIOTT, COURT OF THORNS & ROSES BY SARAH MAAS, WRAITH & DAWN BY RENEE AHDIEH, WALK ON EARTH A STRANGER BY RAE CARSON, AND MADNESS SO DISCREET BY MINDY MCGINNIS.

Teen Series: RECKONERS BY BRANDON SANDERSON, YOUNG ELITES BY MARIE LU, H20 BY VIRGINIA BERGIN, THE 100 BY KASS MORGAN, AND ZODIAC BY ROMINA RUSSELL.

 

 

 

~ by generationgbooks on January 19, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
