Fast Food Maniac: From Arby’s To White Castle, One Man’s Supersized Obsession with America’s Favorite Food by Jon Hein (3 out of 5)

fast-food-e1454454556486

I have a confession. I love to eat. I’m trying to eat healthier and lose weight. I’m trying to keep that weight I have lost so far, out to pasture. A hell of a time for this book to wander into my mainstream. I received a copy of this for free from BLOGGING FOR BOOKS, in return for a honest review. And honest it will be, even to the detriment of those Howard Stern listeners who are acquainted with Mr. Hein. I have to be honest, I haven’t heard Mr. Hein on Howard, so I’m not biased beforehand. I thought the cover and the book sounded right up my alley. A lifetime addiction to fast food and all the greasy convenience it entails. No doubt part of the reason I need to work on that midsection full of tires and the love handles that only a pregnant goose could compare to. Anyway, this was not at all what I thought, although I did enjoy it. I know that I was looking for more of a funny yet hard-hitting look at fast food in this country today, similar to Fast Food Nation, but more updated. I got updated- Hein does a good number on that, but that’s where the hard-hitting ends. Extensive research was conducted, but it seems to me to be a bit short in the end.

Hein headed all over our fine USA and dived into some of the most loved places. There isn’t really a bad chapter in the book- meaning, there are no exposes on how bad that some of these items are. There are a lot of good chapters- meaning, what is great at the restaurant of choice. There’s some nice history in there, and a bit of Hein’s thoughts on his favorites. But there’s not much more than that here. It’s a walk through the halls of Greasy Gastrointestinal Glory in the ole USA, but without benefit of the dire warnings we’ve seen from other authors or documentary makers (Eric Schlosser and Morgan Spurlock) about how bad this shit is. So, if you want a lighthearted prance through the walls of Fast Food USA, this is your book. It wasn’t much the book for me, however. Simply because I’m in a different place nowadays with my eating and lifestyle choices. Ten years ago? This would have been my bible. Now it can be someone else’s.

~ by generationgbooks on February 6, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
