Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley (5 out of 5)

untitled

I’m not a crier by nature. Or by nurture. This book made me cry. It’s not about the hard things, or maybe it is. It’s about the love between a man (Ted) and his dog Lily. The octopus is the only thing getting in the way of the love story. This isn’t a book that will challenge your mind- it WILL challenge your heart. Books like this that are just so sweet in nature and sad in the eventuality that is the circle of life just tear at my heartstrings. They do more than that, though. They make you question those little dumb things in life that we give precedence and priority to. Who cares about whether the dishes are washed and who does them, when you have the eyes of a beautiful dog upon you, waiting for your attention so they can greet you with unconditional love? This is the sort of book that makes you think and be grateful – most of us, at least (I grew up with dogs from the time I was a kid, until I moved into a place where I can’t have dogs. And oh, how this book made me miss dogs), that we’ve been blessed with the love of dogs in our lives and hearts. I can’t write much in the way of a rambling review, like I would normally, because this is a book that doesn’t need much. It has a man, his faithful companion, and the octopus. It has more than that, though- it has everlasting love. And that, my friends, is something that can never be replaced. I urge you strongly to go out and buy this book when it’s released. I urge you, if you’re a bookseller like myself, to put it into the hands of every customer you know who loves animals and especially dogs. I urge you to get everyone on board with this little book. It’s not often that you read something that so gets to you. I haven’t read something that got to me like this book in…well, many, many years. So get out and read it.

Thank you, as always, to Wendy at S&S for recommending this and sending me an ARC. I loved it and hope I can sell a gazillion copies. The book is out, courtesy of our friends at Simon & Schuster, on June 7, 2016. Put it in your TBR list now.

~ by generationgbooks on March 31, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
