The Quality of Silence by Rosamund Lupton (3 out of 5)

25168596

I must be missing the boat. I’ve read several other books by Rosamund Lupton and all of my customers- in the previous book gig and the current one- have raved about her. The other ones I read I enjoyed.. but not to the level of like that I have heard gushing from the mouths of others. I’ve found her books ok. I received a copy of this book for free in return for an honest review from BLOGGING FOR BOOKS. I liked this book well enough, but I really struggled with whether to give it two or three stars. My love for little Ruby, the deaf child at the forefront of the story, winged it to three stars. But barely. I guess I’m just not head over heels for this one.

If Alaska in the winter isn’t a formidable opponent, I don’t know what is. The way that Lupton sets up the locale makes you yearn for its beauty, yet feel exiled in its emptiness. Yasmin and her deaf daughter Ruby are heading for this wilderness to meet Ruby’s father Matt. Upon arriving, they find out he’s been killed in an explosion. After hearing the circumstances of his death, Yasmin refuses to believe it and hitches a ride with one of the ice road truckers. Of course, that goes awry when the trucker has a medical emergency. Yasmin’s pigheaded stubbornness outrules reason and she STEALS the rig to get her and Ruby to their destination, and hopefully, some answers. It’s just her and Ruby in the Alaskan wilderness in the middle of the night…. right there, you know you’re in for something happening. A setup like that is just asking for it (I have no better phraseology right now. Sue me). On top of all of this seemingly obvious setup, throw in a storm and someone who keeps sending Yasmin pictures of dead animals, and you have a true puzzle in your head. I had a true puzzle figuring out the last 2/3 of this book. It felt like there were two stories going on- what happened to Matt and is he somehow still alive, and will Yasmin and Ruby be able to drive a rig (no experience, before you ask) in the middle of a storm with someone who may or may not be stalking them from afar (or not so far?). The book had me til the middle, and then it just fell to pieces. For me, at least. I finished the book, but I didn’t love it to death. I DID love the character of Ruby, but 90% of the book I wanted to beat the hell out of Yasmin for putting herself and her daughter into obvious peril. Grief over her husband’s demise probably drove her to do some truly stupid thing,s but that was kind of ridiculous to me. So, three stars, and one for Ruby- so overall, two stars for this book. Once I was finished, I still didn’t know what to think.

 

~ by generationgbooks on April 8, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
