Lust & Wonder by Augusten Burroughs (3 out of 5)

25663652

I really had high hopes for this one. My friend Dylan and I were talking about this Wednesday night (Augusten’s prior books). I gave him a rundown on this one and he said “It sounds boring”. At that point, I was on page 40 something. I read a hundred pages more Wednesday night, and then the rest yesterday. It went quickly. Too quickly. I always love Augusten’s books because you’re having so much fun with whatever oddities he’s got floating around his orb that you don’t want it to end. I took forever to finish “Running With Scissors” as well as “Dry”, because you were so INTO it that you didn’t want it to end and move onto some grossly inferior book. Well, this one..not so much. I did enjoy it much more than the previous book, but more of Augusten’s essays of whimsy in the romantic volleyball court, just didn’t resonate with me like it did. He didn’t strike me as bitchy, vapid, or boring, just…. it read like a book or two I’ve read in the past year. By other authors in similar places in their lives, where they wonder about the hopscotch board of their love lives.I mourned with him with the sense of loss in some parts of the book, so that hasn’t changed. I laughed a bit, but it wasn’t the infectious joy that I usually welcome a book by him. I guess the simplest way to phrase it is to say “Something’s missing”. I’m not quite sure what that something is, but I got through it quickly, not much stuck with me, and at the end, I dispelled a sigh of relief. Yes, because things end well for our hero, but also because it was over. Sadly, not something I want to say about any of his books. Here’s waiting with anticipation for his next book!

 

 

 

~ by generationgbooks on April 15, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
