Mo’ Meta Blues by Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson (5 out of 5)

I bought this book months ago. I don’t know why the fuck it took me so long to read. I finally had enough after it took me a week to read an absolutely fantastic book. I am not sure if it’s the oft-spoken of depression or what, but it has been a struggle the past two weeks. I am back in the swing of things, though. I apologize in advance.

If you have no idea who Questlove is, I fear for you. He is the drummer for The Roots, a long respected funk and R&B groove band. By the way, that’s my own terminology. I didn’t borrow or tweak it from anyone. If you don’t know him from The Roots, perhaps you know him from being onstage nightly as Jimmy Fallon’s in-house band on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon. Or his side band The Soulquarians. Or a producer of the hit Broadway play Hamilton. He wears many hats. And all fashionable. Quest’s story of a humble beginning in Philly with a family that encouraged music, and even had him on drums in the family band,to his struggles in the music business, to creative differences with Tariq of The Roots, to musical collaborations all over the soundboard, to the art of being a DJ, all of these things color this memoir as soulful, funny, and best yet- intelligent in the ways of the musical crosswalk. Not a dull moment is found here. His life and love of music in any and all forms transcend any difficulties in his life, and every page turned reads a positive message. You have to love this book. I loved the dude before I read this, and more after! What a wonderfully candid trip through Questlive’s wires. And even more heart-rending was the idol worship of Prince throughout the book, made even more so by the recent death of the legend. I would not be surprised to see an updated version of the book come out addressing the death of his idol. So, if you want a thorough, interesting, and candid memoir to give someone who loves music, this is a great start. 

~ by generationgbooks on September 12, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
