The Cruelty by Scott Bergstrom (5 out of 5) 

This exciting young adult title releases in February, 2017. Targeted mainly for ages 17 and up. Thankfully, 43 falls in that range! This is brought to us courtesy of Feiwel and Friends, an imprint of Macmillan. And you know I love a great debut. THIS is a great debut. I can see Hollywood buying the movie rights to this. I hope to Gotham City that they don’t screw it up if they do. 

I will do anything for my father. So will our heroine, Gwendolyn Bloom. Hers disappears and she takes off in hot pursuit. Things on her journey are not at all what she thinks. Surrounded by reprobates, she finds out truths and consequences as disturbing as those spewing them forth. Will Gwen have to turn into a mastermind with a criminal mindset to get her Dad back? She just might. Thankfully, she is an extremely bright and determined young lady normally, so getting her Dad back should be a breeze. Right? Right? Not when her Dad’s job is one normally filled with pitfalls which he has always tried to protect her from. There are moments reading this where I thought, “My dad would’ve kicked my ass”. And make no mistake- had I thrown myself into a sea full of smugglers and human traffickers, my ass would have been grass and he would have been the lawnmower.Therein lies the beauty of fiction. I really enjoyed Gwen, and I loved how Bergstrom didn’t mince words with how gritty the dark side of the world is. And the end…well, you’ll just have to read it and see. 

~ by generationgbooks on January 12, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
