I’m About to Throw This Motherfucker in the Trash: Into the Water by Paula Hawkins

This is a new feature…Slightly retooled. I am resurrecting it. Ironic as this book centers around the supposed suicide of Nel Abbott. She takes a swandive off of a cliff, leaving a grieving 15 year old daughter and an estranged sister who arrives in time for the finding of her sisters body. Add into this a solemn deputy inspector, a somewhat persnickety mother whose daughter also killed herself, in the same river that Nel went into, and done other voices with far removed observations, and you have a head scratcher of a novel. I made it 120 pages into the advance, and I give up. I cannot take it! The characters are annoying, petty, and spiteful…In spite of, and not because of, their grief over Nel’s death. Maybe Hawkins has some trump card that she whips out halfway through the book that would make it right, but I stopped caring about what happened to either of the ladies, and hoping something happened to these petty fools instead. I don’t think that was Hawkins’ intention, and I am calling Game Over on this one. I’ll pass my advance onto someone else. For those waiting with breathless anticipation, it’s out next Tuesday, May 2, via Penguin Random House. 

~ by generationgbooks on April 27, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
