Stranger Than Fiction: True Stories by Chuck Palahniuk (5 out of 5)

I have to be honest with you. I’m not a huge Chuck P fan. I’ve read some of his fiction, but the more I read, the less I like him. I know how terrible that sounds, but as I do blog about books, I do feel the need to be 100% straight up. This came about because I was talking with my coworker about non-fiction, and then somehow we got to discussing Chuck P. My friend and co-worker Dan loves him, and he found his copy of it and loaned it to me. Thanks, Dan. I really enjoyed this collection. To those wondering, it’s not new. The book came out in 2004. I would recommend giving it a shot if you like the darker, grittier side of human nature. Obviously, I do. To give you an idea: Marilyn Manson doing a tarot reading, a love letter to amateur wrestling, Juliette Lewis asking random questions, regular Joe’s who build castles as homes, The Testicle Festival, A woman who, along with her rescue dog, rescued and recovered victims from Honduras after Hurricane Mitch, not to mention background on Palahniuk’s book “The Fight Club” being turned into a film. This is quite a mixed bag. That phrase “mixed bag” usually has negative conontations. Not this time! A very entertaining side of the unforseen heroes and unsung heroines of the dark side of the fence known as human nature. 

~ by generationgbooks on May 24, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
