The Dark Intercept (The Dark Intercept #1) by Julia Keller (2 out of 5)

I’m going to guess this is the beginning of a trilogy- the “norm” for number of books in the middle grade and young adult genres. I’m not sure how this will play out. I’m also pretty sure I am not going to pick up the rest of the trilogy. Just not my bag of herbicide. It is in the dystopian genre of teen/year 12/young adult, by the way. I think dystopian has had it’s moment(s) in the sun, and the genre has been done to death. Will I still read it? Of course. I have no personal opinion or beef with it; I just feel it has oversaturated the market. That’s why I am excited to see new graphic novels in those genres. I think THAT is the new hot thing in kids’ literature. This came in a box of advances, and truthfully, that cover rocks! I was very attracted to the cover. The story? Eh, not so much. 

Violet is the teen daughter of the man who created “New Earth”. There’s such a thing as “Old Earth”, where the vanguished and degenerates dwell. Violet is dying of curiosity and behs to visit “Old Earth”, only yo be denied time and time again by her dad, Ogden. She works on a panel that is controlled by “The Intercept”, a crime-prevention device that monitors and provokes emotion(aka weaponized emotion). Her partner on the panel is mad crushing in her, but Violet only has eyes for Danny, a cop who travels to Old Earth frequently (an ill-advised jaunt) and who gets into a violent altercation down there and asks for her to keep it secret. Violet begins an investigation into what he’s up to. What she finds will change everything she feels for the two Earths, her dad, best friend, and yes, even her secret crush. 

I wanted so badly to dig this book. It had all the setups in place to be a kick-ass book, and I’m sure it will be, for some people. Just not this one. I loved the realistic descriptions of the Earths, and the relationship between Valerie and her Dad. Valerie is where I had a hard time. She felt like any impulsive, impetuous teen with a steady job that tested her mettle and a crush on someone that her parent did not approve of. Come on; we’ve all been there! But Valerie spends a lot of time in the book arguing with herself and then backtracking. Her rationale for things seems protracted around Danny. Who cares if people are killed for no reason?! That’s how I felt. Instead of being a strong, warrior teen queen for the New Earth, she struck me as a mousy, weak female lead. Danny annoyed the hell out of me, as well. Throw it together with a plot that seemed to stall for entire chapters, and I just wasn’t buying it. No resolution in sight, and what’s the point of pitching a romance to the reader if there is no intention of following it yo any sort of resolution? Don’t lead your reader down a primrose path, when there are pretzels strewn about instead. 

~ by generationgbooks on September 11, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
