Fired Up by Jayne Ann Krentz(2.5 out of 5)

I haven’t read Jayne Ann Krentz in a long while. I forgot how much I enjoy her books. This one starts the newest trilogy- the Dreamlight Trilogy. I liked herLooking Glass novels- in fact, I believe I read the trilogies in order. However, you quickly realize you do not have to read them in order(I wish that were the case with more authors). They are quick reads. They are also pretty well-rounded with referring to the history aspect of the series. She doesn’t forget her past characters. The paranormal aspect? I think the Looking Glass books had more to offer as far as suspense goes. The first in the Dreamlight trilogy- this title I am reviewing- goes by so fast, which is great, but it also doesn’t make much of an impact.

The dark and mysterious Jack Winters seeks out Chloe Harper to find an antique lamp that has been missing out of his family for years. He has some very powerful stuff going on with his aura- meaning, once he hits the mid-thirties, like his predecessors- he picks up a second power. This one is the ability to kill people who are harming others- like a Robin Hood of the Burning Lamp. Chloe attempts to find the lamp and herself, but jumping into a frentic-energy type romance with Jack. This is a staple of previous books, but this parternship seems more driven by lust fueled by paranormal, forbidden Lamp energy than it is by an actual partnership. The enigmatic mystery man Fallon Jones makes more of an appearance than in previous books, and that is a good thing, because his character is more intriguing than the entire plot. A back-story involving mystery antidotes doesn’t much add to the overall lure of the book. I wasn’t “fired up” at all through most of the book, but in my usual fashion, I ekked it out until the end, to see if it redeemed itself. Regrettably, that wasn’t the case. Definitely a quick read and easy to latch onto, but it’s going through the motions only with this title. I hope her next Arcane Society novel is much more gripping than this title was.

~ by generationgbooks on November 19, 2012.

Leave a comment